My Top Ten Songs – No. 1

THE SISTERS OF MERCY – “THIS CORROSION”

This is without a doubt my favourite song as well as my favourite music video. I discovered it about a year after it was released when I saw the music video. Then I bought the 12″ extended vinyl version of the song, and then the parent L.P., “Floodland”. The song and album were successful in many parts of the world. There are many things to like about the song. It was produced by Jim Steinman who had an over-the-top, “everything but the kitchen sink” approach to producing records (which I love). It was witten by lead singer, Andrew Eldritch, who sounds positively demonic when he sings, especially on this song. Is it really gothic rock, though? Not according to Mr. Eldritch. To me, it sounds like a mix of classical and rock music. The choir really amplifies the energy of the song – it’s very powerful. And who could forget THAT rain-soaked video, that looks like it was filmed after the apocolypse, with Mr. Eldritch commanding his minions and bass player, the beautiful Patricia Morrison, glaring into the camera. The apocolypse never looked or sounded so good.

Published by Skittz O'Frennick

Hello and welcome. This blog is a very real, genuine and honest journal about my life and my opinions. I’ve decided to write whatever I can about me and my life in the hope that it will help someone. In the process, the blog also helps me because it’s quite therapeutic. I am coping with schizophrenia and depression. Maybe you are too, or maybe you know someone and you are afraid for them. Well, you already have a friend in me. I hope I can help. And I hope not to offend anyone, but my frankness may disturb some. Sorry, if that’s the case. My name is obviously not Skittz O’Frennick, but being anonymous is crucial. There are topics I write about which would make those close to me very concerned for my well-being. So, I hope you gain something positive from this blog. It will not appeal to everyone, but if someone benefits from it then it’s well worth it.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started